The CommonPlace consortium has been carefully selected to mix and balance scholarly and technical partners already firmly established within the social sciences and humanities. The size of the consortium is expansive by design: we are very conscious of the (political) ramifications of an infrastructure that is designed not only to study but to inform European identities. Only a consortium which is both numerous and wide-spread geographically can hope to represent the perspectives and experiences of all the main regions of Europe. The fourteen countries contributing partners to CommonPlace represent over four-fifths of the EU population (almost 418 million citizens). The six most populous countries are included (Germany, France, the UK, Italy, Spain and Poland) and the six largest economies (Germany, the UK, France, Italy, Spain and the Netherlands).  The consortium includes both founding members (Germany, France, the Netherlands, Italy and Luxembourg) and recent members (Hungary, Poland, the Czech Republic, and Bulgaria).

Read more